

**CONTACT** Scott Johnson Executive Director Iowa FFA Association scott.johnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376 www.iowaffa.com

### **News Release**

# Charles City FFA Named 2025 Iowa FFA National Chapter Winner

ANKENY - The Iowa FFA National Chapter Awards will be presented during the 97<sup>th</sup> Iowa FFA Leadership Conference in Ames, on April 13-15, 2025. 46 chapters participated in this year's award program. The firstplace chapter for the event is the Charles City FFA Chapter. The Agricultural Education Instructors/FFA Advisors are Bret Spurgin and Michelle Dohlman. The second-place chapter for the event is the Benton Community FFA Chapter. The Agricultural Education Instructors/FFA Advisor is Krystal Wright.

The National Chapter Award program encourages participating chapters to plan activities and carry them out with a successful Program of Activities. Chapters are recognized for outstanding achievement in the areas of Growing Leaders, Building Communities, and Strengthening Agriculture. The National Chapter Awards are sponsored by John Deere as a special project of the National FFA Foundation.

Three FFA Chapters were recognized for outstanding achievement in four areas. The North Scott Jr High FFA Chapter at Eldridge was named the Overall Middle School Winner. The Charles City FFA Chapter was named the winner in the Growing Leaders Division. The Anamosa FFA Chapter was named the Building Communities Division Winner. The DeWitt Central FFA Chapter was named the Strengthening Agriculture Division Winner. The top 27 FFA Chapters in Iowa will advance to the National FFA competition and will be recognized at the 97<sup>th</sup> National FFA Leadership Conference in Indianapolis, IN.

The National Chapter Awards program in Iowa is made possible with support by Heartland Co-op through the Iowa FFA Foundation. A complete list of results is included on the next page of this release.

#### # # #

#### **About Iowa FFA Association**

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of more than 20,200 student members as part of 270 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com and on social media.

## 2025 National Chapter Award Results

Chap #	Chapter Name	Chapter PO	Rating	Rank	Winners
	-	-	_		
	Charles City	Charles City	Gold	1	Growing Leaders, Overall
	Benton Community	Van Horne	Gold	2	National Qualifier
	North Scott Middle	Eldridge	Gold	3	National Qualifier, Overall Middle School Winner
	Brokaw	Clarinda	Gold	4	National Qualifier
230	Vinton-Shellsburg	Vinton	Gold	5	National Qualifier
10	Anamosa	Anamosa	Gold		National Qualifier, Building Communities
255	Bellevue	Bellevue	Gold		National Qualifier
21	Belmond-Klemme	Belmond	Gold		National Qualifier
286	Carroll Area	Carroll	Gold		National Qualifier
42	Southwest Valley	Corning	Gold		National Qualifier
52	DeWitt Central	DeWitt	Gold		National Qualifier, Strengthening Agriculture
	North Scott	Eldridge	Gold		National Qualifier
	South Hamilton	Jewell	Gold		National Qualifier
	Central Trail	Leon	Gold		National Qualifier
	IKM-Manning	Manning	Gold		National Qualifier
	MVAO	Mapleton	Gold		National Qualifier
	Marengo	Marengo	Gold		National Qualifier
	-	-			
	New Hampton	New Hampton	Gold		National Qualifier
	Postville	Postville	Gold		National Qualifier
	Sibley-Ocheyedan	Sibley	Gold		National Qualifier
	Sioux Center	Sioux Center	Gold		National Qualifier
	Sioux Central	Sioux Rapids	Gold		National Qualifier
38	North-Linn	Troy Mills	Gold		National Qualifier
227	Interstate 35	Truro	Gold		National Qualifier
238	Webster City	Webster City	Gold		National Qualifier
243	West Liberty	West Liberty	Gold		National Qualifier
308	East Buchanan	Winthrop	Gold		National Qualifier
1	AGWSR	Ackley	Silver		
8	Algona	Algona	Silver		
	West Delaware	Manchester	Silver		
	Agri-Power	Eddyville	Silver		
	Forest City	Forest City	Silver		
	Little Switzerland	Waukon	Silver		
	Waverly-Shell Rock	Waverly	Silver		
	,				
	North Fayette Valley	West Union	Silver		
	Williamsburg	Williamsburg	Silver		
	Decorah	Decorah	Bronze		
	Beckman Catholic	Dyersville	Bronze		
	AC-GC	Guthrie Center	Bronze		
	West Sioux	Hawarden	Bronze		
102	West Lyon	Inwood	Bronze		
119	La Porte-Dysart	LaPorte City	Bronze		
153	Mount Ayr	Mount Ayr	Bronze		
158	Newell-Fonda	Newell	Bronze		
165	Newton	Newton	Bronze		
			Bronze		
218	West Central Valley	Stuart	Bronze		<u> </u>